A Family Favorite

When I was in Tennessee at Christmas, my brothers and I were going thru the last bit of stuff from my dad’s estate that we hadn’t sorted thru. It was a few boxes that we knew were mainly photos and things we wanted to hold on to. One of the things we came across was my mom’s Sour Cream Pound Cake recipe. We each have a three-ring binder with most of her recipes, but finding this was like finding that thing that you didn’t know was missing until you found it.

I planned to make it as soon as I got home, but I kept putting it off. Partly pure procrastination, but largely because I didn’t want to make it and be disappointed. Because what if I found one of the staple cakes of my childhood disappointing?

Earlier this week I finally stepped up to the task. And the results did not disappoint. I like to think that the fact that I used  the mixing bowls and Bundt pan that were always used to make this helped.

Sour Cream Pound Cake

2 sticks butter, salted
3 C. sugar
6 eggs, separated
3 C. flour
¼ t. baking soda
8 oz. carton sour cream (go all the way, don’t use light!)
1 t. vanilla

Separate eggs, beat whites until stiff, set aside.
Cream butter and sugar. Add egg yolks, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
Sift flour and soda together, add alternately with sour cream.
Fold in stiffly beaten egg whites and vanilla.
Bake at 350 for one hour in greased stem pan.

[For high altitude baking, I made the following changes: reduced sugar by 3 T. and increased oven temperature to 375.]

One Comment on “A Family Favorite”


Leave a Reply

