Happy Birthday, Mom

Today would have been my mom’s seventieth birthday. These last few days, I’ve found myself wondering what the last nineteen years would have been like, and who she would be today, had her story here on earth ended differently.  That’s not to say that her legacy doesn’t live on in me, and in my brothers. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think of her, that I don’t miss her fiercely.

Today I wonder:

…would green still be her favorite color?

…would she still have the ever-present glass of iced tea within arm’s reach?

…could she ever get enough of the three little bitty Cliffords?

…would theological differences be a hard line in the sand?

…would she still be sneaking into construction-in-progress houses on her evening walks, trying to imagine what the finished product would look like?

…what would be the winner in her Garden & Gun Ultimate Southern Food Bracket?

Yes, there are stories I never heard, and stories that I’ll never know the true endings to that I wonder about. But mostly I wonder about the un-lived mundane details that strung together make a life.

In Tennessee, the daffodils are blooming now. By this time, my mom would have made her way out to the country, to what we called ‘one of the old home places’ – a former family property with only the remains of a crumbly foundation, maybe only a few bricks left – to cut some daffodils (or buttercups as we called them) that still bloomed there. One of the ways she always welcomed spring.  Think I’ll track down some grocery store daffodils today.

Happy birthday, Mom.

3 Comments on “Happy Birthday, Mom”

  1. Rachel says:

    Happy birthday indeed, and thank you for my soul friend, your kid, Amy. xo

  2. CMB says:

    I think Miss Janice would make 70 look real good. And she would be very, very proud of the three grown-up Cliffords, in addition to the little-bitties.


Leave a Reply

