words make me happy

Time with a good book is one of my favorite things. Here’s what I’ve read the past few months:

Churched: One Kid’s Journey Toward God Despite a Holy Mess by Matthew Paul Turner
One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp
Fall to Grace: A Revolution of God, Self & Society by Jay Bakker and Martin Edlund
Bossypants by Tina Fey
The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God by Brent Curtis and John Eldredge
Find Your Way Home: Words from the Street, Wisdom from the Heart by Becca Stevens and The Women of Magdalene
The Enneagram Made Easy: Discover the 9 Types of People by Renee Baron and Elizabeth Wagele
House of Prayer No. 2: A Writer’s Journey Home by Mark Richard
Reluctant Pilgrim: A Moody, Somewhat Self-Indulgent Introvert’s Search for Spiritual Community by Enuma Okoro
The Beauty of Different by Karen Walrond
Making Sense of Scripture: Big Questions About the Book of Faith by David J. Lose
Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir. . . of Sorts by Ian Morgan Cron
It’s Really All About God: How Islam, Atheism, and Judaism Made Me a Better Christian by Samir Selmanovic
Discover What You’re Best At by Linda Gale
Expressive Photography: The Shutter Sisters’ Guide to Shooting from the Heart by Shutter Sisters
I Am Scout: The Biography of Harper Lee by Charles J. Shields
Juxtapoz Photography by Diana Weber
The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I’m also knee-deep in these right now:
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
The Long Goodbye: A memoir by Meghan O’Rourke
The Church Is Flat: The Relational Ecclesiology of the Emerging Church Movement by Tony Jones
My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman
The Promise of Despair: The Way of the Cross as the Way of the Church (Living Theology) by Andrew Root
The Artist’s Rule: Nurturing Your Creative Soul with Monastic Wisdom by Christine Valters Paintner

***photo is of my moleskine journal. the sticker on it is from Sarah Utter‘s work at buyolympia.com. Check it out.

3 Comments on “words make me happy”

  1. Ellen says:

    I get the best reading lists from you!!! Xoxo
    Ellen

  2. Well aren’t you the speed reader!! Which are your top five and why?

  3. House of Prayer No. 2: A Writer’s Journey Home – remarkable memoir. I’ve never seen someone use 2nd person narrative so effectively.

    Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir. . . of Sorts – became a fan of Ian Morgan Cron after his first book, Chasing Francis, and spiritual memoir is one of my favorite genres.

    I Am Scout: The Biography of Harper Lee – I love anything associated with To Kill a Mockingbird. Very insightful look into her life. This is also the impetus for my picking up In Cold Blood now.

    Bossypants – because I just needed to laugh out loud.

    The Beauty of Different – wonderful commentary and images on what beauty truly is, by a photographer whose work I admire.


Leave a Reply

